V-Day

14 Feb

I swear, the only thing that is getting me through work today is the memory of my beautiful husband, sleepy in bed this morning, wishing me all the love in the world. That, and the constant kicks I’ve been getting from my beautiful little boy who I can only hope will grow up to be just like his Daddy. Unfortunately the vibe at work is a little less love filled, but being pregnant happens to make me not give a damn that my Tim Tams are going uneaten because everyone’s too keen on that second helping of Annoying to go with their Bitch sandwich. More chocolate goodness for me I say!

Anyway, since I’m pregnant and glowing and full of happy hormones and all that, I find it a lovely co-incidence to come across this blog post today from Sluiter Nation that perfectly describes both the man that I’m married to, the son I hope to create, and the mother I want to become. It’s a sappy day, for sappy sentiments, and Katie sums it up beautifully so go on, click through, and have a read.

As for other random news, I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend. I contemplated finishing a quilt for baby William (a big step in the right direction, even if I didn’t actually finish it), started sewing in all the lose ends for Henry’s quilt that I started making when The Boy were busy making him, and started a new baby blanket out of a couple of balls of navy wool that I found in The Boy’s study. Upon being questioned about said balls of wool, The Boy explained that he once expressed a desire to know how to knit, so his American aunt sent him some needless and yarn, along with a card that not-so-subtly suggested he may be batting for the other team. Thankfully I found the balls in an almost-virgin state, and they’re now being put to good use.

I also went to the local fabric store to pick up a gorgeous navy polka-dot cotton, and a cute pink and green flowered fabric that I plan on making into a couple of dresses that should, with tights, help see me through the winter. All for $30! And thank you Meet Me At Mikes for the totally adorable and, most importantly, idiot proof pattern!!

To help make the weekend complete, it rained and rained, I made french toast with berries for The Boy and The Bump, had a bath, cleaned the house, and indulged in a few too many cups of chai tea. Plus, Henry put on quite a spectacular show trying to show my belly button who’s boss. And I loved every second of it.

Today, I’d like nothing more than to be at home with my man, snuggled in bed, watching the rain come down. Sadly, I’m at work and walked into quite the shit-storm this morning that had the potential to bring me down until I realised:

  1. I’m married to a totally awesome guy
  2. I’m pregnant and about to become a mum to a totally awesome little boy
  3. I have a lovable fur-baby who, despite bringing me the odd crawly gift and ripping the crap out of our house, really is quite cute
  4. I’m spending the weekend in Tassie with my totally awesome family
  5. I have good health, beautiful friends, and endless opportunities…anything beyond that is a totally worthless first world concern.

If I couldn’t love a life like that there’d something seriously wrong with me. And if it weren’t enough, I’m getting a new iPhone this week… and really, everyone knows how much happiness a new iPhone can bring!

2 Responses to “V-Day”

  1. Katie February 15, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I love that despite having a shit day, you can still find all the things that make you happy! cheers to that, my dear!

    • Verity February 15, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      Well I thank you, Katie, for that! Wasn’t until I read your post that my day picked up. Love reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

