My little companion

9 Feb

One of the coolest things I’ve felt during this whole pregnancy is a complete lack of loneliness. Normally, I’d rather rip out my toenails before leaving the house on my own, unless it’s to go somewhere or do something I’ve done a dozen times before. Like grocery shopping. And even then some days I’m convinced that all the check-out staff talk about me once I’m gone.

Anyway…

Since finding out about the bun in the oven I’m feeling super relaxed about doing new things. Mostly because now, even if I find myself standing like a loser in the corner of the room, I’ve got Henry to keep me company. Which is super cool. I no longer feel lonely because I’ve got my very own built in companion! How neat is that! And, now that he’s kicking like a maniac it feels more like I’m engaging with an actual someone, rather than an imaginary friend. At 26 years of age this can only be a good thing.

Of course, when he goes through all those ‘I’m-totally-too-big-and-cool-to-actually-like-you-anymore’ phases I’m going to be devastated, but for now I’m grinning like the cat that swallowed the canary every time I feel a little bump and a roll. Although he’s a tad too hard on my bladder at times, I’m really going to miss feeling the little guy inside. It feels indescribably good. Almost as good as the feeling I got when I snuck that first kiss from a sexy young doctor in a Kings Cross nightclub back in ’07. Awwwwwww.

While I’m busy melting in a pool of emotional memory goop I’ll leave you with an interesting little tidbit I came across today:

In 2002, a study found that smoking during conception increased the likelihood of conceiving a girl.

I’m going to take that one with a grain of salt but I thought I’d post it here for The Boy’s benefit should he ever need an excuse for smoking in the future. That’s one free pass for you, honey, so long as I get to use the  ‘calories are afraid of heights, so Tim Tam’s stored on top of the fridge are actually low-fat’ one at my discretion.

Leave a Reply

