Another week, another plan

28 Sep

So after last week’s hissy fit where I single-handedly managed to ruin the one day that The Boy and I got to share together, I got a do-over. Last weekend The Boy and I drove to the coast for a completely unplugged weekend of sand, surf and sleep. Without the surf, because there were hundreds of nasty blue-bottle jellyfish in the water and after my last experience with one of those things (ascending from a dive and practically swallowing one whole as it sucked onto my face with a death grip that stung so bleeping bad I thought I would DIE) there was no way I was putting so much as a toenail in the ocean.

Anyway, aside from the crazy blue jelly fishes of doom, the weekend was lovely. We BBQ’d, mucked around with friends, ate, slept, stuck our faces in rock pools and drove there and back singing loudly to our two new favourite songs – B.o.B’s “Airplanes” and Flo Rida’s “Club Can’t Handle Me”. I felt like a teenager again, but without all that crappy ‘OMG no-one likes me’ angst. In fact, for the first time in a long time I felt like I was born to be in this skin. It appears I’m growing up. Finally.

So with some quality husband time under my belt, I came back to work sore as shit and feeling a bunch of muscles I didn’t even know I had, and with some crazy allergy that’s making me look like I’ve spent the entire weekend raging in tears. But feeling good. Oh so good. It’s even baby-making time and I’m not stressed out of my head. Because, I’ve decided that there’s other stuff I’m going to do.

Sure, we’re still trying. But not ‘let’s put everything on hold til we get this RIGHT, dammit,’ trying. I’ve just put in my application for a Masters degree in International Development which I am THRILLED about, so much so I can hardly stop myself from racing down to Officeworks right now and buying new pens and books ready for the new year.

I’m also spending a lot more time on Kenya Aid stuff because it makes me happy, and someone’s gotta do it. So keep your eyes peeled for some exciting new events on the Kenya Aid calendar next year! I’m even planning a trip to Kenya in May which I really, really want to do because there’s a bunch of stuff over there that I need to catch up on and throw myself into. This plan of mine is causing some slight marital discord – The Boy is hoping I’ll be pregnant by then and I’m pretty much forbidden from taking his budding offspring anywhere dangerous – but hey, that’s what marriage is about, right? Pushing each other’s buttons until someone cracks and ends up in tears.

Leave a Reply

