A lot of nothing

26 Aug

I’m in a funk. The Boy and I are walking on eggshells around each other after a rather pathetic argument over how to spell ‘a lot’. Ridiculous, I know. But when you live with someone who makes words their living, and that someone tells you ‘a lot’ is two words, not one, then it might be prudent to listen.

But for whatever reason The Boy insists on continuing to spell ‘a lot’ as one word. Sometimes he puts in two ‘l’s if he’s really trying to push my buttons. He claims that he’s not doing it to antagonise me and truly, I don’t really give a shit how he decides to portray himself, as long as he’s not deliberately trying to get a rise out of me.

Anyway, whatever. This argument – as with most arguments involving a female – has nothing to do with the topic at hand. I don’t even know what it’s about. I just feel flat. Maybe I’m getting old. Maybe I’m coming down from the honeymoon high. Maybe it’s because the damn cat kept me up all night last night acting adorable and chasing himself in the mirror. Maybe it’s because of any number of reasons that just pile up because I don’t want to say anything in case it looks like I’m unhappy when I’m not. Maybe it’s because sometimes shit just gets too hard to explain.

In an effort to escape my funk, I’m going out tonight with some lady friends to enjoy some of the world’s best dumplings* and an avocado juice. Sounds awful, I know, but don’t knock it til you try it. Hopefully after that, and a good couple of hours on the train reading my new book, I’ll be feeling a bit better. Let’s just hope The Boy feels the same.

*The restaurants claim, not mine. Though I have to say it’s probably true.

Leave a Reply

